Early ACM Award Winners Just Announced

View Comments
Screen shot 2011-03-29 at 4.54.08 PM

[lastfm link_type=”artist_info”]Garth Brooks[/lastfm], [lastfm link_type=”artist_info”]Larry Gatlin & The Gatlin Brothers[/lastfm], [lastfm link_type=”artist_info”]Reba McEntire[/lastfm] and [lastfm link_type=”artist_info”]Taylor Swift[/lastfm] are among the early ACM Award winners honored with Special Industry Awards. 


Career Achievement Award

[photogallerylink id=42752 align=left]ACM nominee and host(ess) Reba has been chosen to receive the Career Achievement Award, which is presented to an individual artist, duo, group or multiple artist collaboration who have advanced the popularity and acceptance of country music through their endeavors in the entertainment industry in multiple areas during the preceding calendar year. Reba remains one of the best-selling country artists in history, with record sales approaching 57 million.

Jim Reeves International Award

[photogallerylink id=43088 align=left]Taylor Swift has been chosen to receive the Jim Reeves International Award, which is presented to an individual for outstanding contributions to the acceptance of country music throughout the world.
In addition to multiple gold and platinum awards from dozens of countries, Swift has already performed numerous dates in Europe and Asia this year. She is the top-certified artist for digital singles in the last decade.

Tex Ritter Award

[photogallerylink id=44346 align=left]The movie Country Strong, featuring Tim McGraw and Gwyneth Paltrow,  has been chosen as the recipient of the Tex Ritter Award, which is given to a movie released and/or receiving major exposure during the preceding calendar year, featuring or utilizing country music. Country Strong (Produced by Screen Gems and Sony Pictures Entertainment.) is a drama film starring Oscar® winner Gwyneth Paltrow as a country superstar staging a comeback, while two-time ACM male vocalist winner Tim McGraw played her husband and manager.

Mae Boren Axton Award

John Dorris (Monument Records, Combine Music Publishing) has been chosen as the recipient of the Mae Boren Axton Award, which is given in recognition of years of dedication and service by an outstanding individual to the Academy of Country Music.

Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award

[photogallerylink id=44321 align=left]Garth Brooks and Larry Gatlin & The Gatlin Brothers have been chosen to receive the Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award honoring individuals who are pioneers in the country music genre.

Poet’s Award

Tom T. Hall (aka “The Storyteller”) and Hank Cochran (1935-2010) have been selected to receive the Poet’s Award, which honors songwriters for outstanding musical and/or lyrical contributions throughout their careers in the field of country music.


Casino of the Year – Mohegan Sun Casino – Uncasville, CT
Don Romeo Talent Buyer of the Year – Steve “Bogie” Bogdanovich – Romeo Entertainment Group
Nightclub of the Year – Joe’s Bar – Chicago, IL
Promoter of the Year – Sally Williams – Ryman Auditorium
Venue of the Year – Ryman Auditorium – Nashville, TN
MBI (Musicians, Band, Instrumental) AWARDS:
Producer of the Year – Paul Worley
Audio Engineer of the Year – Chuck Ainlay
Bass Player of the Year – Glenn Worf
Percussionist/Drummer of the Year – Eddie Bayers
Guitarist of the Year – Tom Bukovac
Fiddle Player of the Year – Aubrey Haynie
Piano/Keyboard Player of the Year – Gordon Mote
Specialty Instrument(s) Player of the Year – Bryan Sutton
Steel Guitar Player of the Year – Dan Dugmore

The 46th Annual Academy of Country Music Awards, which honors country music’s top talent as well as the industry’s hottest emerging artists, is produced for television by dick clark productions and will be broadcast LIVE from the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas on Sunday, April 3rd, 2011 at 8:00 PM live ET/delayed PT on the CBS Television Network.

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 597 other followers