Street Date: ‘Clear As Day,’ Scotty McCreery Is Real Country!

View Comments
(Photo by Andrew Southam)

(Photo by Andrew Southam)

Whenever I get a new CD from a brand new young country musician, I worry that the artist will not be able to sustain enough varied song material to have real long lasting impact. You’ll be very pleasantly surprised by the debut album from American Idol winner [mp3com-artist]Scotty McCreery[/mp3com-artist] and veteran country producer Mark Wright who delivers a nice, thoughtful and real country release with Clear as Day.

[pullquote quote=”Check off Scotty as the real deal in your country library and add a new chapter because just like track #5 this boy is from a real ‘Water Tower Town’ and THAT’S country!” credit=”Tim Roberts, CBS Radio Program Director”]Scotty has been influenced by [mp3com-artist]Merle Haggard[/mp3com-artist] and [mp3com-artist]Waylon & Willie[/mp3com-artist] to be sure!  There’s no mistaking Scotty is country through and through, from the first notes of “Out of Summertime” which recalls many a summer past of young love lost. Producer Mark Wright has already delivered two big radio hits with “I Love You This Big” and the new single “The Trouble with Girls.”

I really like how Scotty does a great job of changing moods from the stark “Clear as Day,” which reminds me of the early [mp3com-artist]John Anderson[/mp3com-artist]’s “1959” to the fun “Better Than That” which is a wonderful approach on high school love. He explores that subject again in the track “You Make That Look Good” as Scotty belts outs “Honey better than it should, might as well say Cadillac on that hood…the way you flash that smile, no matter what you do, you make that look good!”

This album also delivers real emotion in “Back On The Ground.” My absolute favorite track is the last song which is a killer and powerful tribute to the Family Bible. “That Old King James” transports you through the generations from his father’s past to the present, recalling all the journeys in life: “Now the cover’s torn, and the weather’s worn on that old King James.”  Check off [lastfm link_type=”artist_info”]Scotty McCreery[/lastfm] as the real deal in your country library and add a new chapter because just like track #5 this boy is from a real “Water Tower Town” and THAT’S country! ~ Tim Roberts, CBS Radio Program Director

Clear As Day Track Listing:

1. “Out Of Summertime”

2. “I Love You This Big” (Watch the Official Video)

3. “Clear As Day”

4. “The Trouble With Girls”

5. “Water Tower Town”

6. “Walk In The Country”

7. “Better Than That”

8. “Write My Number On Your Hand”

9. “Dirty Dishes”

10. “You Make That Look Good”

11. “Back On The Ground”

12. “That Old King James”

scotty mccreery cas cover Street Date: Clear As Day, Scotty McCreery Is Real Country!Scotty McCreery‘s Clear As Day is available in stores and online Tuesday, October 4th. Order or pick up your copy at, iTunes, and preorder at

More Scotty news:

Scotty McCreery touring with Brad Paisley in 2012.

Scotty talks about trying to keep things ‘normal’.

Scotty McCreery wasted no time breaking records.

For even more news and updates, follow your favorite American Idol @ScottyMcCreery on Twitter, “Like” Scotty McCreery on Facebook or visit his official website!

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 597 other followers